Happy Independence Day! Bring out your Lithuanian flag!

What’s Happening Today?

IN CANADA: Join the first ever virtual celebration of Day of Restoration of the State of Lithuania on Tuesday, February 16th, at 7 pm, EST. See details in our previous post Celebrate Independence Day!

 

FOR KIDS – also in Canada! All Lithuanian school students (ages 4-17) from across Canada are invited to the Lithuanian Canadian Youth Association’s (KLJS) virtual Independence Day (V-16) celebration! It’s happening on Saturday, February 20th, 2021 at 1pm EST (11am MST/10am PST)! Students will be able to interact and play with their peers while learning more about V-16 and its events! If your child isn’t currently registered at a Lithuanian school but would still like to participate, please email us at [email protected]

 

IN VILNIUS: See Vilnius lit up in the colours of the flag! On the eve of Independence Day, they will shine on Gedimino Tower and the Three Crosses monument. A special concert will be shown on Lithuanian television (LRT) at 9 pm (local time), with scenes of various significant locations and favourite Lithuanian music. This journey along Lithuania‘s path to statehood will include chats with Lithuanian President Gitanas Nausėda and other leaders, past and present. Go to LRT televizija-LRT gyvai at 2 pm EST.



IN KAUNAS: A fund-raiser for Youth Association Ateities counsellor training will be held beginning at 7 pm local time. In the program – address by Kęstutis Kėvalas, Archbishop of Kaunas, a lottery and auction, concert by Simona Smirnova and duo Kristina Kliorytė and Canadian Alexandre Stanke.

 

ON LRT TELEVISION: Debut of the award-winning Karolis Kaupinis film Nova Lituania at 6:30 pm local time. It has won best place in the Athens and Ryga Film Festivals, and a special Cineuropa prize at the Vilnius film festival. Kaupinis won best director for this film in the German “goEast“ Festival.